top of page

Echoes From József Gallai


Tell us more about yourself.

Who is József Gallai?

I am an independent filmmaker who lives and works in Hungary, Europe. My name can be associated mainly with horror films. I wrote and co-directed Bodom, Hungary's first feature length found footage horror film that opened a very prestigious festival in the UK, namely the Bram Stoker International Film Festival in 2014.

In 2016, I also wrote and co-directed Moth, which was picked up for distribution in the United States by Wild Eye Releasing and was in the top 200 most popular film on IMDB early this year.

The title of my latest work is A Guidebook to Killing Your Ex, which is currently on film festivals. It has already collected three nominations including Best Original Screenplay at the International Filmmaker Festival of World Cinema in Nice, France.

When did you know you wanted to be a filmmaker?

It may be funny but I only decided at the age of 20. That is when I sat down in front of the television and watched Lady in the Water directed by M. Night Shyamalan. He is one of my favorite directors. I remember I could do nothing else but cry for almost a day and I believe this was the moment I decided to make films in the future.

Are you in love with the horror genre?

Actually, I'm not in love with the genre. I sometimes watch, and very much admire, great horror films, especially the ones operating without blood and relying on the atmosphere. Those are the creepiest horror films for me.

Who is your biggest inspiration for filmmaking?

Perhaps M. Night Shyamalan. But I also like Bennett Miller's films and James Ward Byrkit's Coherence.

Your indie films are quite riveting and have a nostalgic feel about them.

What is your creative process?

The best part for me is to create the atmosphere, the locations and the characters in it. Usually I work as a writer, director, producer and sometimes an actor. So I literally have to do everything. I spend a lot of time in pre-production, usually around a year. During the process, I try to find new talents, new possibilities and partners.

You've described Echoes as a short horror film about a middle-aged man and his infant son, haunted by mysterious presences in a remote cabin in the woods.

What else would you like to comment about this film?

There are extremely talented people in the cast and crew. Some of them have already worked with me. I wanted to work again with Tímea Virga and Shawn Michael Clankie after co-operating them in my previous feature. The locations are eerie as hell and I am more than excited to finish this short film. Hopefully we will be able to see it in January 2018.

Why did you choose to create this particular story?

I love mysterious stories and films where you do not have a clue until the very end. This is what I would like to achieve with this film, too. It will heavily rely on sounds and long shots.

Who would you like to work with on your future films?

Anyone who is as determined as I am.

 

Right now József Gallai is campaigning

Head on over and grab your perks.

Follow
Me
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
Recent Posts
Follow Me
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page