top of page

Rune Temte - A Phenomenal Actor


Rune Temte - www.runetemte.com

One of my favorite actors, Rune Temte is a Norwegian actor born in Solbergelva in the outskirts of Oslo, Norway. Rune is by far one of the many artists with noteworthy talents that deserve more recognition. His skills are diverse and he puts on intriguing performances every time.

Rune Temte also loves connecting with his fans. It is always a pleasure interacting with him. I had a great time talking with Rune these past couple days and doing this interview.

Be sure to visit his website: www.RuneTemte.com

Let me begin by saying, I love your work. Thank you for joining me in this interview.

Thank you for your support and for doing this interview.

The first time I’ve seen you on screen was in the 2015 TV series The Last Kingdom, which made a lasting impression on me. Your portrayal of Ubba is enticing. Did any scenes show real emotions?

Thank you. Yes all my work are based on real emotions. Generally I tried to show a Vikings joy in life. I saw Ubba as a whole person… in his simplicity and complexity.

How do you connect with Ubba?

A Peer Gynt on mushrooms suits me fine!

Your fight/death scene with Alexander Dreymon is, ironically, where I considered Ubba was brought to life the most. It brought out some intense emotions.

How did you prepare for that scene?

I trained with the real deal boys here: www.vikingmartialarts.com They work with Glíma the Viking Martial Arts and gave me a fantastic base for the work with TLKs fantastic Levente Lezsák, who did the choreographing for the camera using a combination of different fighting techniques.

It was intense and with a lot of emotions indeed. Alexander is such a great person and a talented actor and skillful fighter so it was a joy at the same time as we all knew it was coming to an end for Ubba. We worked for two nights and it was hard to get any sleep during the day so I was really pushing my limits. I was very open and as always that can create really deep and intense emotions and in the encounter with the circumstances and the other actors it can develop into gold. That's what we are all working towards I suppose; something real and truthful and alive.

Is there a behind-the-scenes story you’d like to share?

In episode one behind the shield wall I am on my big horse Flossy. It was muddy, the horse was so big and the lights were going and 200 hundred extras had been out in the mud for 15 hours. I was called to get on my horse to be the crazy dude Ubba orchestrating it all. Unfortunately I got stuck in the mud trying to get on to the enormous “Shire horse”. I was not able to move and believe me, it took more than one dirty viking extra to get me on the saddle.

Series two will be airing 16th of March on BBC Two. Will you be watching?

I will indeed. I know what will happen...

The Vikings ruled what is now known as Norway, Denmark and Sweden.

Being Norwegian, have you been able to trace your lineage back to the Viking age?

I haven't but I suppose Harald Fairhair would be of my family way back.

Your most recent series include The Hitmen and Fortitude. Who are Frank and Lars? Every role has an importance. What do Frank and Lars bring to the story?

No small roles so both Lars and Frank are important in the sense that they are strong characters even though not in every scene.

The Hitmen: Frank is a bad ass from Norway, second in command to the Swedish mafia boss. A Dirty Harry character on the other side of the law.

Fortitude: Lars is a man of many secrets with an eye and an ear for the hole of the frozen town of Fortitude. He is witty without the slightest idea that he is. I believe Lars has a very troublesome past and that it needs to be explored in season 3.

The 2016 film Eddie the Eagle is based on the true story of Olympic ski-jumper, Michael “Eddie” Edwards. You portray the Norwegian coach, Bjørn. Can you tell us more about the coach?

He is the main man and knows it all and wants boys to grow up and become men as soon as possible. Everyone and everything that stands in the way of his boys, he will eliminate. With or without his clothes on. In combination with a very soft heart, this makes Bjørn into a very funny character to play. Even though Dex had to cut some scenes that Bjørn was really getting on with his business in, because of the US market… I believe we managed to make him work.

Did the cast get to work with the real Eddie?

He came out to the Alps when we were shooting. A lovely man!

What about this film was most fun for you?

Meeting the lovely Dexter Fletcher and the generous Hugh Jackman and of course hitting him, the one and only Wolverine and surviving! It was also a great pleasure to work with Taron Egerton and last but not least to actually meet and work with legend Christopher Walken. The guys in Marv Films (UK) are of course the best of boys and we had a lot of fun just being boys!

Before acting, you played professional football. How did your life change after transitioning into your first movie making experience?

Not really a different life apart from finally working worldwide and in high profile projects that I wanted so much, dreaming about playing for LEEDS UFC.

Picking from any role you’ve played, which character would you consider to be the most challenging?

UBBA. And this is the strange thing because when everything comes together with a character and the setting and the project it all feels so “easy” so light and as "the most natural thing in the world." BUT to archive that sensation takes a lot of work. And to be that good and have this sensation is where I want to arrive every time... hi ha.

Which actors would you like to work with in the future?

Daniel Day Lewis. Alicia Vikander, Jason Flemyng (again); amazing guy! Hera Hilmar and of course everyone in the projects you have mentioned above :) I must say I have been very fortunate with casts, crews and directors. May it continue!!

Your star is quickly rising. What positive effect has fame brought for you?

Thank you but with a restless soul like mine it is hard not to be in front of the camera every day. Hardly any actor is so I am surprised that I can just relax and enjoy some days at home doing the things that we all do. Of course being with one of the world's hottest agents Laura Munsterhjelm at www.actorsinscandinavia.com

I get a lot of castings, but there are a lot of talented people out there so I do not take anything for granted, but of course having been a part of the projects I have over the past 2-3 years. Something with more screen time will come for sure! Because that is what we need now. What about: THE RETURN OF UBBA - a real viking movie with a real viking with solid shoes.

Fame gives me more exposure and hopefully more work. That's it and yes of course a chance to encounter with so many great followers like yourself. Thank you!

Last question: Is there someone special you’d like to thank for being your biggest supporter?

My family of course and my agent Laura but also my acting coach David Penn, whom I met 3 years ago and is a huge reason for developing my acting skills: www.thecloseup.eu. I will also forever be grateful to TLK main man, director Nick Murphy who saw me and gave me the freedom to create Ubba.

Follow
Me
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
Recent Posts
Follow Me
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black Google+ Icon
bottom of page